A Month Later…

It’s been a month since I finished my Master’s and what have I been doing?  Well, I have rested.  A LOT! Doing a Master’s nonstop for 18 months can be a pretty draining experience, to say the least.  The reading, the learning, the applying.  More reading, more learning, more applying!

I have also embarked on my latest journey as a digital educator.  My grant for 18 Ipads for my Kindergarten classroom was fufilled and I received them right before Spring Break.  I’d like to say I’ve been using them nonstop.  But that would be untrue.  First I had to get them all in their cases and labeled sufficiently.  Since these are just Kindergarten Ipads, I felt like they needed to be marked accordingly.

IMG_1060

Then, I had to wait on our district tech people to come set them up.  I have to say the turn around on that was one day.  They are awesome and came out and set up all 18 at one time!

So why haven’t I been using them daily? Life.  Testing.  Report cards.  Field trips.  Today was the first day that every child used the Ipads in some way during reading time.   My dog group used them to practice writing sight words in the Doodle Buddy app and my cat group used them to practice sounding out words in the same app.

IMG_1061

My partner teacher has also used them this week in Power Hour for more enrichment.  I have marked articles and You Tube videos that I need to read to start getting some good ideas.  I have started earning badges in the Apple Teacher program for Ipads.  Now I just need time and inspiration.  I plan on attending the Technology for Tots conference this summer to get more ideas and inspiration.  In the near future, we hope to be using them so much that the technology disappears in our classroom and the focus is on the learning.  For now, they are all excited about our Ipads and I heard today I am “the best teacher ever.”  Oh, if that were only true!   Untitled

Posted in In my classroom

Leave a Reply

