Digital tattoos, open access, and social media

This week, we are looking at digital tattoos or footprints, the internet, and net neutrality.  I like to think of myself as a pretty educated individual.  I pay attention to the news and try to stay on top of what is going on in the world.  But after reading Johnathon Zittrain’s book The Future of the Internet and How to Stop It, I realize that many things go on that we are not even remotely aware of.  To be honest, I have not completed the text, but just reading the first few chapters and realizing how the internet came to be around the same time that I was leaving high school and entering college, and I really had no idea what was going on.  That can be a little frightening.  I have not always been one to be the first to try new things but my husband Theron has.  I remember the first time he mentioned a TIVO, back when the technology was new.  I thought for sure we would never use that thing.  Now I can’t imagine life without a DVR.  Who watches TV in real time?  I hope to have time to finish this book after completing my work this week to learn even more about the internet and the dangers that can be associated with it.

I have really enjoyed all the videos that were shared about digital footprints to share with our students.  I would love to see these shared on my school’s newscasts starting at the beginning of the year.  I feel like students can never be too young to hear this.  We tell our babies from a very early age things that we want them to remember for a lifetime (don’t do this, don’t do that).  Why would we not do the same with digital citizenship issues?  I know my own personal children could have benefitted from this from an early age (had these things existed yet).

I enjoyed the articles that dealt with net neutrality and open access.  These are not topics that I am very familiar with so it was interesting to read them and hear the different sides to the arguments.  I agree that everyone should have equal access to the internet and that providers should not be able to control the speed of access for people who pay more.  This kind of situation would harm our education system as we are not going to be the people who have the ability to pay extra, so our students wouldn’t have the same access to information.

The articles that dealt with social media usage and teens were something that I am somewhat familiar with, being that I have a teenager and a pre-teen in my household at this time.  I think that so many more articles need to be published on this topic, especially for educators to share with parents in our schools.  Teens and pre-teens are moving at the speed that the technology is moving at.  Even I, who most consider a pretty techie adult, have a hard time keeping up with the new apps and ways that teens are using social media to communicate.  It reminds me of a few years ago when I tried to ground my son from social media.  He was able to find different ways to communicate faster than I could catch him and so we began this game of cat and mouse for several months.  I was having to read every article I could find about new apps and social media to keep up.

I am still really enjoying the topics that we are looking at in this class.  I really look forward to our class discussions and I could see them going on for hours.  If you are enjoying reading about what I am learning, let me know.

References

An Introduction to Net Neutrality: What It Is, What It Means for You, and What You Can Do About It. (n.d.). Retrieved July 25, 2016, from http://www.marshalldata.com/2014/05/an-introduction-to-net-neutrality-what-it-is-what-it-means-for-you-and-what-you-can-do-about-it/
C. (2014, September 04). Oversharing: Think Before You Post. Retrieved July 25, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wyjd73tUXig
C. (2013). What’s in Your Digital Footprint? Retrieved July 25, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4P_gj3oRn8s
F. (2011, February 24). Do you really have a private life online? (social network privacy loss due to friends). Retrieved July 25, 2016, from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-e98hxHZiTg

Lenhart, A. (2015). Teen, social media and technology overview 2015. The Pew Research Center. Retrieved fromhttp://www.pewinternet.org/2015/04/09/teens-social-media-technology-2015/

Long, C. (2015). What net neutrality means for students and Educators. Retrieved from http://neatoday.org/2015/03/11/net-neutrality-means-students-educators/

Open Internet. (2011). Retrieved July 25, 2016, from https://www.fcc.gov/general/open-internet

Perrin, A. (2015). Social networking usage: 2005-2015. Pew research Center. Retrieved fromhttp://www.pewinternet.org/files/2015/10/PI_2015-10-08_Social-Networking-Usage-2005-2015_FINAL.pdf

Reardon, M. (2015). 13 Things you need to know about the FCC’s net neutrality regulation. Retreived fromhttp://www.cnet.com/news/13-things-you-need-to-know-about-the-fccs-net-neutrality-regulation/

Zittrain, Jonathan. (2009). The future of the Internet and how to stop it. Retrieved from https://goo.gl/ees5S1

 

Shelby

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Digital Citizenship

Leave a Reply

