Measuring “Appy Hour” Plan

My measurement plan for “Appy Hour” has went through sort of an evolution throughout the past few weeks.  With help from my collegues, I have narrowed my focus on what I want to measure at this point.  At first, I was struggling if I was going to measure the student outcomes of “Appy Hour” or the teacher perceptions and changes.  I finally decided on looking at the teachers first.  My decision is based on my idea that I have to get the teachers participating more and then the student outcomes can become a second form of measurement after I have maximum participation.

I will begin measuring the teacher perceptions and usage using a variation of the TUPS survey that can be found here.  My survey can be found at this google link.  By looking at the teacher’s usage and perceptions, I can begin to see if the teachers are using technology and what they feel like their strengths and weaknesses are.  Using that information will be helpful in planning future professional development during “Appy Hour”.

My second survey is based on a TPACK survey, and can be found at this google link.  The original survey was created for pre-service teachers, so I left off the questions that dealt with current classes.  The original survey can be found here.  I plan on using this survey to further strengthen my choices of topics to use during “Appy Hour”.

The third survey can be found at this google link.  I created this survey specifically to measure if Appy Hour is changing teacher behaviors.  By administering this at the beginning of an “Appy Hour” cycle and at the end, I should have data that shows if teachers are changing their behavior based on “Appy Hour” topics and interactions.

I plan on sharing the results to all my surveys with the administration and my computer tech apps teacher to help drive future staff development ideas.  With this information, hopefully they will see the benefit of presenting technology training in a more hands-on, interactive way.  By putting the results into an excel spreadsheet, to show the different percentages for each of the answers on the scale, I think we will be able to get a more accurate view on where the teachers at Moore stand in terms of comfort, use for their own learning, and if “Appy Hour” has helped them transfer skills into working with the students.

I couldn’t find much information about the validity and reliability of either survey.  I will have these done anonymously to help with the “honesty” part of any survey.  All three surveys will also use a Likert scale format, if possible, to show a wider range of answers.  Finally, after hearing that many surveys are compromised by not having a “N/A” option from my professor, I added that to each question where it was appropriate.

References

Schmidt, D. A., Baran, E., Thompson, A. D., Koehler, M. J., Mishra, P., & Shin, T. (n.d.). Retrieved June 30, 2016, from http://mkoehler.educ.msu.edu/unprotected_readings/TPACK_Survey/Schmidt_et_al_Survey_v1.pdf
TIM: The Technology Integration Matrix | A video resource supporting the full integration of technology in Florida schools. (n.d.). Retrieved June 30, 2016, from http://fcit.usf.edu/matrix/tups

 

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in 5315 Measurement

Leave a Reply

