Thoughts on Disruptive Education and my future

With the Christmas season and report cards weighing down on me, I’ve been playing around with the idea of an “Appy Hour” for the last few weeks too.  I cannot take credit for the name as someone on Twitter mentioned it to me in one of my chats but I really like how it sounds.  Throughout the rest of the year and next,  I want to use “Appy Hour” as a catalyst to change the practices and views that the teachers in my school, and eventually maybe my school district, have about using apps and programs in the classroom.


How did I get to the “Appy Hour” idea?  It was a multi-step approach.  You can click on the following links to go through my journey.

What is Disruptive Innovation?

Research, Research, Research

My Plan for “Appy Hour” 

Video Presentation of “Appy Hour”


I have already begun to implement my “Appy Hour” in my building and I can see some strengths and weaknesses in my idea.  I think I need to add more incentives to get teachers more excited to attend.  Being that I have no real funds available, I am going to offer a teacher “break” to a door prize winner and take their class for 30 minutes during my planning time to have an IPad party.  I also think that I am really going to have to go out there and sell this idea to my more resistant staff.  I have been trying to work my magic on a few people and hopefully the word will spread how non-threatening these meetings really are.   I plan on continuing “Appy Hour” through the rest of the school year. 

I also plan on taking a similar proposal to my school district to see if something similar could be offered at the district level.  I would love to see it not be all ages together, but more broken down by Elementary, Middle School/Junior High, and then High School.  While I feel we have much to learn from each other, I know when an idea seems irrelevant to my age level, I tune it out.  I don’t want to see this happening. 

I still intend to coach the participants of “Appy Hour” through the grant writing process in our district, and also would like to encourage them to write grants through Donors Choose.  I feel like having the technology all the way across the building where it is not accessible may be part of the lack of buy-in I am getting from teachers. 

I would also like to start a twitter chat about “Appy Hours” around the country where collaboration of ideas and strategies can be shared.  I will more than likely go through my ISTE  board “Mobile Learning” to get advice how to start such a task. 

Finally, I am going to keep pushing this idea, 100%, no matter what the outcome. I want to show the sense of “urgency” that I feel in getting the teachers on board with using mobile technology and apps in their classrooms to make the learning more student-centric. 

Some books that I am interested in reading to elevate my knowledge in educational technology in general are Mastering Mobile Learning by Chad Udell and Leading From Below the Surface by Theodore B. Creighton.  I have also started to read How to Win Friends and Influence People in the Technology Age by Dale Carnegie and Associates by the recommendation of my professor. I hope these books will make me a better communicator but also deepen my knowledge both of the struggles in the classroom and also give me a strong background in mobile learning.  For teachers who may be reading my blog and hearing about disruptive innovation for the first time, I highly recommend going on You Tube and looking up the video presentations that are there. 

Carnegie, D., & City, N. (2012). How to win friends and influence people in the digital age (Paperback ed.). New York: Simon & Schuster.

Creighton, T. (2005). Leading from below the surface: A non-traditional approach to school leadership. Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Corwin Press.

Udell, C. (1). Mastering mobile learning. Pfeiffer.

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged with: ,
Posted in EDLD 5305 Disruptive Innovation in Tech

Leave a Reply

